相片集

Photographer's Note

Hello friends in TE.

This disused lighthouse is situated inside Kuala Kedah Fort. This image was captured from the window of the museum inside the fort.

Kuala Kedah Fort has witnessed many bloody battles in Kedah's turbulent history as competing powers have competed for influence in this strategic corner of the Malay Peninsula.

The fort has been destroyed, rebuilt and strengthened numerous times since it was first built in the 17th century by Kedah's Sultan Sulaiman Syah. The original fort was made from clay, timber and bamboo and was used by the Portuguese as a trading depot.

The Portuguese had a bitter rivalry with the Acehnese who sent over a fleet in 1619 to destroy the fort and oust the Portuguese.

Later generations rebuilt the fort but it was destroyed again in 1770, this time by a Bugis fleet.

Francis Light of the British East India Company helped to evict the Bugis. In return for British protection, particularly against the Siamese who were flexing their muscles in this area, the Sultan of Kedah agreed to cede Penang Island to the East India Company.

This was a good deal from the British point of view but despite reinforcing the fort with labour imported from India around 1780, it did not prevent the Siamese from attacking and destroying the fort in 1821 and once again, for the final time, in 1838.

More...


SHOT on FILM

Make: Olympus
Model: XA2
Negative Scanner: FUJI PHOTO FILM CO., LTD. FE FDi Service Software / FRONTIER355/375-3.0-0E-511
File Size: 225 kb
jusni nasirun 2013


Thanks for viewing!

pajaran, snunney, ourania, adores, abmdsudi has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1581
Points: 24
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Jusni Nasirun (jusninasirun) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 2492 W: 182 N: 3825] (17529)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH