相片集

Photographer's Note

Around 1587, the Schlossberghauptmannshaus (House of the Captain of the Castle) was built in the moat.
The vast vaults were originally designed for storage of provisions, but on the occasion were used as a prison.
The Schlossberg抯 揅asemate served a double purpose. By day, it housed stores/goods for the fortress. At night, it became the sleeping quarters for very uncomfortable prisoners.

The ruins of this building, blasted in 1809, were then converted into an open air stage, and in 1937 it was inaugurated with a performance of Beethoven's "Fidelo".
It also has a movable roof that will cover the stage area. (see WS)

jhm has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 2264
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Aleksandar Dekanski (dekanski) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 321 W: 129 N: 1525] (9265)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH