相片集

Photographer's Note

The door San Giacomo is one of the main access roads to Citt alta. It is the largest and most ornate of the four gates that pierce the walls of Bergamo.

Built in the second half of the sixteenth century it was made ​​entirely of white marble. As all the gates of Bergamo, it bears on its front, the lion of Venice, the symbol of the domination by the city of the Doges in the past.
The door has been redesigned several times in the early nineteenth century and in 1939.

Since 1907, this gate is also known as the Garibaldi door since it is through that door that Giuseppe Garibaldi and his troops of hunters of the Alps entered Bergamo, June 8, 1859, during the second war of Italian independence, waged against Austria.

The door features the colors of the Italian flag to commemorate the 150th anniversary of Italian unification.

CLODO, paololg has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 2266
Points: 14
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Delphine Digeon (tatadalou) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 754 W: 113 N: 1142] (7459)
  • Provence-Alpes-Cote-dAzur photo
    #
  • Provence-Alpes-Cote-dAzur photo
    #
  • Provence-Alpes-Cote-dAzur photo
    #
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH