相片集

Photographer's Note

After the Duomo, the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II and the Scala, we continued our journey in Milan at the Castello Sforzesco. As its name suggests, this castle is named thanks to the Sforza family, who lived there in the past. The castle forms a large square with each side is 180m long. Four corner towers complete the construction.

The castle was built in the second half of the fourteenth century. The fortress, for defensive purposes, was built under Galeazzo Visconti II. A century later, the last Visconti died without heirs. The castle was dismantled and its stones reused to restore the city walls.

Three years later, in 1450, the castle was rebuilt by its new lord, Francesco Sforza.
Over time, the castle saw his altered appearance, some courts are adorned with elegant facades.

From 1499, the castle will pass under several dominations. First French rule until 1526. A troubled period during which successive sieges and battles that will damage the castle.

Then Spanish rule, until 1706. The castle is surrounded by an imposing fortification in shape of star.

The castle then fell into the hands of the Austrians until 1796, when Napoleon first took it. The external structures are destroyed. The castle is mutilated by the citizens, including when the Austrians regain control of the fortress in 1815.

The castle reborns with the unification of Italy (1861). The monument is purchased by the city of Milan, who then began its restoration. The remains of the outside fortifications were destroyed, the towers find again their greatness, the ditches are regrooved.

Source: sitio ufficiale Castello Sforzesco

WS : another view

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1488
Points: 4
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Delphine Digeon (tatadalou) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 754 W: 113 N: 1142] (7459)
  • Provence-Alpes-Cote-dAzur photo
    #
  • Provence-Alpes-Cote-dAzur photo
    #
  • Provence-Alpes-Cote-dAzur photo
    #
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH