相片集

Photographer's Note

The Town Hall was designed by Edward Rundle, architect to the 7th Duke of Bedford. It was opened on the 2nd February 1864 with a Grand Ball which went on until 4am as reported by the Tavistock Gazette of the day. The building at the time also housed a Savings Bank, Parish Council offices and a Market Keepers residence. It was built over the site of Mathew Street, Lower Brook Street and Lower Market Street. Constructed of local stone in the Late Perpendicular Gothic style, it boasts a stunning main hall measuring 64 x 42, with paneled walls and a superb maple floor, along with other historic and interesting rooms including the Mayors Parlour. Due to radical new taxation laws in 1910, the Town Hall, along with other local buildings, passed from the 11th Duke of Bedford抯 estate into the freehold ownership of the Town Council. Nearly a century later and the building is still serving the community and forms the focal point of the town centre.

Ordgar, Earl of Devon, is the reputed founder of this Abbey, about AD 960, and is so described by the medieval historian, William of Malmesbury.
The standing remains consist of the north-east angle of the cloister in the churchyard (sometimes said to be a part of the north wall of the church and called 'Ordulph's Tomb')

PaulVDV, adores, jjcordier, tyro, prasun984, Indrasish has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 2528
Points: 32
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Leslie Bennett (williewhistler) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1247 W: 41 N: 2372] (16606)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH